Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 392
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » March 26th, 2017, 10:30 am

New problem ! :P
One of the fans of my 660 does turn. If I set the fan speed at 85% with afterburner, it starts to turn (but of course too much noise). Do you know if there is a way to fix this? My temps are correct for one fan ^^ (72°max), but I would like OC a little bit (by the way do you know if I can rise "a lot", actually the clock speed is 1150MHz).
Image

User avatar
Alubat
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 208
Joined: October 18th, 2015, 5:12 pm
Location: Danmark

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Alubat » March 27th, 2017, 7:13 pm

What 660 card is it ?

Maybe your temps are too high
Does card/fan have too much dust ?
In afterburner you can make your own manual fan temp/rpm(%) curve
(make sure userdefine button & maybe also Auto (click it) is marked in red color when you save profile)

I think most Nvidia cards can be overclocked at least 10% on both GPU and MEM, But fans will make more noise coz of the extra heat.
When I overclocked my old 760 I repasted GPU with some MX4 https://www.arctic.ac/eu_en/mx-4.html which reduced fan rpm by ca. 10%
ImageImage

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 392
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » March 27th, 2017, 7:37 pm

This is the MST TFIII (this one https://www.google.fr/search?q=660+msi+ ... LYEOhqUj7M:).
The fan which does turn is the right one (I've got one fan on the front of the case who probably send some cold air on the side of the card so it could help a little bit).
The problem is that if I make a custom curve, I have to set on 85% for having both fans turning (^^) so it sounds like a reactor x)
I think I will try to change the paste (i have artic silver at home), but the most embarassing is this fan problem... I imagine that if the fan motor whas dead it should never turn, no?
Image

User avatar
Alubat
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 208
Joined: October 18th, 2015, 5:12 pm
Location: Danmark

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Alubat » March 28th, 2017, 12:09 am

DTBG. wrote:This is the MST TFIII (this one https://www.google.fr/search?q=660+msi+ ... LYEOhqUj7M:).
The fan which does turn is the right one (I've got one fan on the front of the case who probably send some cold air on the side of the card so it could help a little bit).
The problem is that if I make a custom curve, I have to set on 85% for having both fans turning (^^) so it sounds like a reactor x)
I think I will try to change the paste (i have artic silver at home), but the most embarassing is this fan problem... I imagine that if the fan motor whas dead it should never turn, no?



hmmm. Some thing like this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYNJwLDrhfw

maybe this will help. Check comments
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kx7go-cA9tc

Video card guide: MSI GTX 580 Twin Frozr disassembly / fan replacement
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDdBqX6KR1U
ImageImage

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 392
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » March 28th, 2017, 6:51 am

And do you think i can change the speed with speedfan without changing de second one ?
Image

User avatar
Alubat
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 208
Joined: October 18th, 2015, 5:12 pm
Location: Danmark

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Alubat » March 28th, 2017, 3:51 pm

DTBG. wrote:And do you think i can change the speed with speedfan without changing de second one ?


No, but Im not sure.
I would go for this sollution

Der beste VGA Kühler - Accelero Mono Plus Unboxing + Installation + Test - GTX 660
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUYY-Hpk7Hw

http://www.ebay.de/sch/i.html?_from=R40 ... s&_sacat=0

If you are lucky.. You can maybe get it cheap
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Arctic-Accelero- ... SwhQhY0rO0
ImageImage

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 392
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » March 29th, 2017, 8:17 am

Thx, but i dont want spend 30e for this ^^
I've found someone who has the same problem, and who has put the fan connector on the mobo. I think i will try this (in 5v) if i understand which cables i should use ^^
The thing is that they will always turn (if 5v is enough, i hope ), and during the week the card is not used for game, so fans dont need to turn so much. So can i used speedfan for change the speed and stop (or making them going slower)?
Or i got an other idea, delete the broken fan and put a case fan on the slot, like this the gpu will still ne regulated ^^
Image

User avatar
CaproGreene
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 653
Joined: September 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby CaproGreene » March 29th, 2017, 10:03 am

Hi DT,

My gtx960 has two fans, where one is always visible. In FH2 the one fan isnt spinning, cause it needs no cooling for the loads FH2 put to the card.

Are you sure its a hardware problem or dont you stress your card that far....
Last edited by CaproGreene on January 24th, 2018, 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 392
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » March 29th, 2017, 11:28 am

Yep, i don't have semi passive, and i can tell you the card suffers on bf1 ^^
I've bought or from second hand one and a half year ago, maybz this fan has never turned x)
But i dont really understand which cables i should use if i want connect the gpu fans on mobo
Image

User avatar
Alubat
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 208
Joined: October 18th, 2015, 5:12 pm
Location: Danmark

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Alubat » March 29th, 2017, 4:45 pm

gpu fan connector on cable is hidden inside gfx card and may not be long enough to reach mottherboard and its probaly not the same as standard fan connectors on motherboard (see motherboard manual) look for something like CPU_FAN, CHA_FAN 1 etc..
ImageImage


Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests