Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

User avatar
CaproGreene
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 603
Joined: September 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby CaproGreene » January 21st, 2016, 1:46 pm

Speaking and typing ingame FH2, the idea came up to start a new topic for what kind of hardware you use in your PC.

Its all subjective, so let it not be the intention to be bigger or better then someone else his PC.
Just to give ppl an idea what to use or not...

I just change my MB, from an Asus P5W DH deluxe with an E6600 to a Asus Z170 with an i5 cpu. Well that was a change.
Mem is now 16gb DDR4, vengeance (2x8gb, 2666mhz)
GPU: MSI GTX960 with 4gb
SSD: samsung 840 evo
HDD: 2 (320gb + 1 tb)
To keep things cool i put in a Scyth Mugen 4 PCGH

And to keep the fans spinning there's a Seasonic 550W. The case, the power supply are oldies (15 and 10 year old). But if it ain't broke....

Long time ago I started with an 7950GX2, for a massive amount of 500+ euro's. Personally i think that was insane. It was not worth it. No i go for the bang/buck factor. the GTX960 was a good deal.

Maybe someone has a nice casemod....
Last edited by CaproGreene on January 24th, 2018, 12:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Klimax
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 146
Joined: October 6th, 2014, 2:43 pm
Location: The Shire

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Klimax » January 21st, 2016, 2:53 pm

nice rig, capro! but please, try to do some cable managemant to improve the airflow inside of the case and make it looking cleaner. ;)

well, atm I'am still using a notebook. it is a reliable thinkpad x230. a i5 paired with 8gb of ram and some ssd for storage, it is a solid machine. at least fh2 is playable at medium settings.

Image

the tft in the background is waiting for the incompletet tower. anyway, the mainboard should arrive soon. the small 5-box is simply filled with usb sticks. otherwise I pretend to lose them. :)
Image

User avatar
CaproGreene
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 603
Joined: September 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby CaproGreene » January 21st, 2016, 8:28 pm

So true, maybe it wasn't available or a budget question. But If the budget is there i can advice to go for a PSU with detachable modular DC cables. So convenience!

I will rearrange the cables!

One tip: I always had 2 lan ports on my old Mobo. No I have 1 :evil: . So i can't connect my NAS no longer direct to my pc (while gaming cabled to lan), Now is connected to a router somewhere in the network.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Klimax
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 146
Joined: October 6th, 2014, 2:43 pm
Location: The Shire

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Klimax » January 29th, 2016, 11:40 am

my petit pc:

Image

@Capro: there are Z170 chipsets with 2 lan ports. you could sell your actual one and buy a new one with 2 ports.
Last edited by Klimax on March 28th, 2016, 10:19 am, edited 5 times in total.
Image

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 385
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » January 31st, 2016, 7:53 pm

What is your CPU Capro?
Image

User avatar
CaproGreene
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 603
Joined: September 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby CaproGreene » February 1st, 2016, 1:21 pm

Ha DT,

Its a i5 skylake 6600k

For who is interested, here is a nice link to compare CPU's (and in relation to price - performance). There are also tons of GPU's to find.

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cp ... Hz&id=2570

I still have to rearrange the cables and sort something out with my NAS...... There is also a little thing on my cooler and fans. It should be push - pull, But I have it now that they both pull. It keeps the underneath Graphics card very cool. (I personally think the basic design of graphic cards is wrong, its not meant for case with vertical MB and thus horizontal graphic cards. The GPU is then under the pcb and in my opinion it can't get rid of the internal heat very efficiently).

Of course this can only when my case is still open. When i decide to close it, i rearrange also the fans and bring them to push - pull.
Last edited by CaproGreene on February 7th, 2016, 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Image

DTBG.
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 385
Joined: March 22nd, 2015, 9:19 pm

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby DTBG. » February 1st, 2016, 1:34 pm

Ok, nice one ^^
Image

User avatar
Alubat
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 194
Joined: October 18th, 2015, 5:12 pm
Location: Danmark

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Alubat » February 22nd, 2016, 9:32 pm

PSU Corsair RM 650W 80+ Gold
Mobo Asus X79 deluxe
cpu Intel i4820K OC at 4.6Ghz
cpucooler Corsair H100i with 2x2 Noctua NF-P12 Push/Pull
Mem (quadmode) 4x4Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro Series DDR3 1866 MHz - OC at 2133mhz Cl9
HDD Samsung 850 EVO Series SSD, 500 GB, SATA 6Gb/s
Asus GTX760 2gb OC Core 1293Mhz OC Mem 1742mhz
Monitor Asus ROG Swift PG278q 1440P G-sync
Internet 4G : 762FH2server ping 69-110ms

win 7 and FH2 on ramdrive (dimmdrive) for faster loading times
my dimmdrive benchmark
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =460602978

repasted CPU & GPU with Artic cooling MX-4 = 5-10% better temps & less fan noise :-)

Cpu <50 celcius & Gpu <65 celcius when running FH2



CaproGreene : Maybe you could just buy an extra netcard ?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 00kb500053
ImageImage

User avatar
Klimax
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 146
Joined: October 6th, 2014, 2:43 pm
Location: The Shire

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby Klimax » February 22nd, 2016, 9:38 pm

what is the voltage at 4,7 ghz with the 4820k?

my 5820k needs 1,24 volts at 4,5 ghz (1.5h primestable :)
Image

User avatar
CaproGreene
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 603
Joined: September 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

Re: Hardware: Which rig is running your games etc

Postby CaproGreene » February 22nd, 2016, 9:45 pm

Nice one Alubat.

Yep, I really will consider an extra lan card.

Also thinking of a new keyboard. Must be cabled, durable and maybe lockable (clicky) keys like Cherry mx stuff.

If I can't find a suitable cherry board i will consider a logitec one. Any tips somebody?
Image
Image
Image


Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest